Interview with the ecoWarriorr

June 22, 2009 at 9:51 pm Leave a comment

Picture 1Here’s a little interview we did with the lovely Hillary Newman, otherwise known as @ecowarriorr, – a tireless LA-based greenie.

Why Eco warrior?

I studied abroad in London during my junior year of college and quickly became infatuated with eco-fashion.  As I met with eco-fashion designers all over London, listened to their stories, and researched about our detrimental habits to the environment, my infatuation grew into a permanent connection to my experience and ultimately led to searching for a green job once graduation came.

I am an Eco Warrior because I will not rest until I feel our lives are more sustainable.  It’s really as simple as that.  I like having my finger on the pulse of what is going on in the Green space and sharing the news with the people who share my interest.

What are you up to at the moment?

Currently I am working at a marketing and PR company that works withsocially conscience companies.  I am constantly asking myself to redefine the term, “green”.

Outside of work, I blog for the Huffington Post about emerging eco-fashion and I am working on a project called LYFE with two of my friends, Tracy Hepler (CEO of Your Daily Thread) and Rachel Hurn-Maloney (CEO of Vie Boutique), in an effort to build a community of young motivated people who share a common interest about the environment.   LYFE stands for Leading Young Future Entrepreneurs. Our goal is to introduce this community to environmentally related work opportunities and encourage young people to join together to bring about change.  We plan to start LYFE events in LA but
are looking for people to build LYFE in other cities.

What keeps you awake at night?

Aside from my neighbor’s obsession with Latin techno music, a lot keeps me up at night.  It’s important for me to focus my energy otherwise I might never get a full night sleep.  Right now, LYFE is keeping me awake.  I really believe a lot of power lies in the hands of the youth.  Through LYFE,
my intention is to create a forum for that power to exist.

What is on your radar now?

I am always supportive of people taking matters into their own hands. Right now people are gardening.  Keep your eye on Guerrilla Gardeners—they began in London organizing mass planting and seed bombing excursions.  They are literally bringing cities to life.  I wrote a blog about victory gardens inspired by Michelle Obama’s garden on the Huffington Post for Earth Day. It was exciting because Wal-Mart and Ferry Morse sent out 1,500 packets of vegetable seeds all around the United States on behalf of my article.

Link to the blog:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/hillary-newman-/claim-your-land-start-a-k_b_189038.html

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bright Green Survey Results: Jobseekers Willing, Waiting, Wondering The Art of the Voicemail

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most Recent Posts...

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Bright Green Twitter

  • RT @robgo: So, main lesson. Founders of great companies don't get too excited when momentum is high and fight ferociously when times are to… 1 week ago
  • Right on... lnkd.in/bbeVc9S 1 month ago
  • are @Airbnb now officially a big company? used to have great customer service, now 30 mins phone times, no callback, no emails. Poor. 1 month ago

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

